Become An Appraiser

How to Become An Appraiser

Appraisal licenses are managed on a state level, by a state department.  In California, this is the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA).  Additional input on appraiser qualifications and standards has been authorized by congress to The Appraisal Foundation (TAF) on a federal level.  The Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) provides federal oversight of state appraiser regulatory programs.  

REAA provides a unique experience for those interested in becoming an appraiser by facilitating a network of licensed appraisers to learn more about the profession. REAA typically offers Continuing Education (CE) for licensed appraisers.

In California, a combination of basic education, work experience, and an examination is required to obtain an appraisal license.
There are currently four levels of appraisal licenses in California.
  • Trainee (AT)
  • Residential (AL)
  • Certified Residential (AR)
  • Certified General (AG)
Below is a summary of license levels, education requirements, and scope of practices.


Event Registration

If you'd like to attend an event but are not a member, click Create Account at the top of your screen and choose the Free Website Profile option to create a profile.  


Event Cancellation

Cancellations will be accepted by email to and must be dated and timed prior to the close of online registration.  Refund fees will apply and vary by event.  Refunds will be made to the original credit card used to register.

REAA Forum

Open to all Real Estate Appraisers.  Find out what appraisers are talking about